MFA on the trip of chess players to Kabul

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Kazakhstan responded to the request of the Kazakhstan Chess Federation. It concerns the 5th Central Asia Chess Cup on prizes of FIDE president Kirsan Ilyumzhinov on March 8, 2018 in Kabul (Afghanistan).

Tournament information.

The Kazakhstan Chess Federation (KCF) sent official query to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Kazakhstan on the situation in the capital of Afghanistan and recommendations about the participation of the Kazakhstan chess players in the Central Asia Chess Cup.

“Given the continued insecurity in Afghanistan, we feel compelled to stress the importance that Kazakhstan chess players refrain from participating in the international chess tournament the 5th Central Asia Chess Cup on prizes of FIDE president K. Ilyumzhinov that will take place in the city of Kabul on March 8th to 15th, 2018″, was the official statement from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in response to the KCF’s query.

The reply of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Kazakhstan can be downloaded here.

In the middle of January 2018, there was a tragic incident, of which the head of the Press Service of the Ministry Anuar Zhaynakov posted on his Facebook page: “Today, a citizen of Kazakhstan born in 1978, passed away as a result of attack of gunmen on Intercontinental hotel in Kabul”. The Central Asian chess tournament is to be held at this very hotel.

МИД РК О ПОЕЗДКЕ ШАХМАТИСТОВ В КАБУЛ

Министерство иностранных дел Республики Казахстан ответило на запрос Казахстанской федерации шахмат. Касается он 5-го Кубка Центральной Азии на призы президента ФИДЕ Кирсана Илюмжинова, который пройдет 8 марта 2018 в г.Кабул (Афганистан). 

Подробная информация о турнире.

Казахстанская федерация шахмат (КФШ) направило в МИД РК официальный запрос, с просьбой дать разъяснения по ситуации в столице Афганистана и рекомендации по участию казахстанских шахматистов в Кубке Центральной Азии.

«Учитывая небезопасную обстановку в Афганистане, мы посчитали, что казахстанским шахматистам будет уместно не участвовать в международном шахматном турнире «5 Кубок Центральной Азии на призы президента ФИДЕ К.Илюмжинова», который будет проводиться в городе Кабул 8-15 марта 2018 года», — говорится в официальном ответе внешнеполитического ведомства.

Оригинал ответа от МИД РК скачать.

Напомним, что во второй декаде января 2018 произошло трагическое событие, о чем на своей странице в Facebook написал руководитель пресс-службы МИД РК Ануар Жайнаков: «Гражданин Казахстана, 1978 года рождения, погиб сегодня в результате атаки боевиков на гостиницу Intercontinental в Кабуле». Между тем, именно в этой гостинице планируется провести центральноазиатский шахматный турнир.