KAZAKH CHESS PLAYER – ZHANSAYA ABDUMALIK OF EIGHTEEN, REACHED THE QUARTERFINALS

From 3 to 23 November, the Women’s World Championship is held in Khanty-Mansiysk, where young Zhansaya Abdumalik reached the fourth quarter final. It should be noted that for the first time in the history of domestic chess, Kazakhstan’s athletes managed to go through four rounds in adult world competitions.

 “This is my first world championship among adults. I understood that I had to face a serious struggle, because my opponents were experienced titled athletes. Before that, I won the World Junior Championships and the World Championships U20, but it was a completely different level, ”says Zhansaya.

On November 3, 64 best athletes of the world from 29 countries came to the Khanty-Mansiysk Chess Academy “Ugra” to compete for the title of World Champion. The competition is held on a tight knockout tournament system. This means that only one loss makes it impossible to continue to participate, and with each new round the number of participants is halved.

Zhansae managed without defeat to get into the fourth round. In the first round, she won against Indian girl Ruth Padmini in a tiebreaker with a score of 1.5: 0.5, in the second round she won in a tiebreaker over Chinese Zhao Xu – 2: 0. The third round was also successful – she took over the Polish grandmaster, Jolyanta Zavadskaya, guaranteeing herself a one-fourth final. In the quarter-finals Zhansaya met with the world champion, grandmaster from Ukraine, Maria Muzychuk. Classic games ended in a draw – 1: 1, four Rapid games also could not determine the winner. And only in the blitz, our athlete was defeated by the champion of 2015 with a score of 1.5: 0.5.

“Zhansaya showed a brilliant game. For her, this was the first experience of playing at the World Championship in Adult Chess. And at her eighteen, she managed to defeat more experienced players. In the quarter-finals for six games she showed the fight to the former world champion, but in the blitz the outcome often is a game of chance,” commented the Executive Director of the Kazakhstan Chess Federation, Irina Grishchenko.

Zhansaya Abdumalik is a multiple champion of Asia and the world champion among juniors. In 2013, she was recognized as the best U20 chess player in Asia. A year ago, this girl from Almaty won the title of World Chess Champion U20 in Italy.

 

General partner of KFC: SWF “Samruk Kazyna” JSC, social partner: Social Development Fund “Samruk Kazyna Trust”.

The general sponsor of the NGO “Kazakhstan Chess Federation” – Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation.

 

For more information contact:
Igor Bushmelev, +7 707 323 55 80,   igor.b@kazchess.kz

ЧЕМПИОНАТ МИРА

 С 3 по 23 ноября в Ханты-Мансийске проходит Чемпионат мира по шахматам среди женщин, в котором юная Жансая Абдумалик дошла до одной четвертой финала. Отметим, что впервые в истории отечественных шахмат казахстанским спортсменам удалось пройти четыре раунда во взрослых мировых соревнованиях.

 «Это мой первый Чемпионат мира среди взрослых. Я понимала, что мне предстоит нешуточная борьба, ведь моими противниками были опытные титулованные спортсменки. До этого я выигрывала чемпионаты мира среди юниоров и чемпионат мира до 20 лет, но это был совсем иной уровень», – признается Жансая.

3 ноября в Ханты-Мансийскую шахматную академию «Угра» приехали 64 лучших спортсменки планеты из 29 стран, чтобы побороться за звание Чемпиона мира. Соревнование проходит по жесткой системе нокаут-турниров. Это значит, что всего один проигрыш лишает возможности дальнейшего участия, и с каждым новым раундом количество участников сокращается вдвое.

Жансае удалось без поражений пройти в четвертый круг. В первом раунде она выиграла у индианки Рут Падмини в тай-брейке со счетом 1,5:0,5, во втором она одержала победу в тай-брейке над китаянкой Жао Ксю – 2:0. Третий раунд также прошел удачно – она взяла верх над польским гроссмейстером Йолянтой Завадской, гарантировав себе выход в одну четвертую финала. В четвертьфинале Жансая встретилась с чемпионкой мира, гроссмейстером из Украины Марией Музычук. Партии в классике были сыграны вничью – 1:1, четыре партии рапида также не смогли определить победителя. И только в блице нашей спортсменке пришлось уступить чемпионке 2015 года со счетом 1,5:0,5.

«Жансая показала блестящую игру. Для нее это был первый опыт игры на Чемпионате мира во взрослых шахматах. И в свои восемнадцать она сумела одолеть более опытных шахматистов. В четверть финале в течение шести партий она не уступала бывшей чемпионке мира, но в блице итог часто решает случай», – прокомментировала Исполнительный директор Казахстанской федерации шахмат Ирина Грищенко.

Жансая Абдумалик – многократная чемпионка Азии и мира среди юниоров. В 2013 году была признана лучшей шахматисткой Азии до 20 лет. Год назад алматинка завоевала титул Чемпиона мира по шахматам до 20 лет в Италии.

 

ПОДРОБНЕЕ О ЧЕМПИОНАТЕ

Генеральный партнер КФШ – АО «ФНБ «Самрук Казына», социальный партнёр – фонд развития социальных проектов «Sumruk-Kazyna Trust».

Генеральный спонсор РОО «Казахстанская федерация шахмат» – научно образовательный фонд им. Шахмардана Есенова.

За дополнительной информацией обращайтесь:
Игорь Бушмелев , +7 707 323 55 80,   igor.b@kazchess.kz