The Kazakhstan Chess Federation has determined the composition of the participants of the Championship Final of the Republic of Kazakhstan, which starts April 21 in Almaty. 12 athletes will compete in the men’s section and 10 in the women’s section for the prize fund of 5 million tenges.

In the men’s finals Murtas Kazhgaleev, Anuar Ismagambetov, Denis Makhnev, Dinara Saduakasova, Peter Kostenko, Arystanbek Urazaev, Zhandos Agmanov, Nurlan Ibraev, Konstantin Kazakov, Ramazan Zhalmakhanov, Ilya Moiseenko and Andrei Kvan will meet .The women’s section  Guliskhan Nakhbaeva, Madina Davletbaeva, Gulmira Dauletova, Assel Serikbay, Elena Ankudinova, Alfiya Nasybulina, Meruert Kamalidenova, Amina Kairbekova, Zeynep Sultanbek and Aruzhan Shauken will play.

“The selection of participants took place according to certain criteria”, says the Executive Director of the Kazakhstan Chess Federation, Irina Gryshchenko, “the latest achievements of chess players at national and international tournaments for 2-3 years, as well as such factors as titles and ratings of athletes were taken into account”.

The final among men will consist of 11 rounds and will last until May 2, the women’s final of 9 rounds will end on April 29. All parties will be held on the territory of the hotel “Almaty”. The tournament is held in a circular system with a further calculation of the rating in FIDE.

“One of our tasks is a high level of the championship. We strive to make our tournaments the forge of new grandmasters. We succeeded – this year both championships will be held with the norms of an international grandmaster” concluded Irina Fedorovna.

The champion of the Republic of Kazakhstan (separately for men and women), in addition to a cash prize of 600,000 tenges, is entitled to be an official participant from Kazakhstan at the individual Asian Championships and Zonal tournaments.

All finalists receive guaranteed cash prizes, winners of gold, silver and bronze medals are also awarded medals and diplomas.

Read more

More about the tournament