mvariety.com Jamie’s Mate 2015-Dec-29

THIS week I had the privilege of having an interview with Women’s International Master Gulmira Dauletova from Kazakhstan.

This is Gulmira’s answers to my questions:

GULMIRA DAULETOVA
Gulmira, when did you learn chess and who taught you the sport?

When I was 4 years old my father showed me how the chess pieces move. I was curious about chess, as it was very interesting for me as a very little girlJ. My father is a candidate master of chess and he played chess when he was young; a sport he loved. My parents got married when they were 21-22 years oldJ and that’s why he couldn’t continue playing chess. He had to study at university and work and gave all his love of chess to me. I am proud that my father is my first coach and thanks to him I learned a lot and gained candidate master level. Later he found a new coach for me. I started to play in international tournaments, where I won the Asian Chess Championship U 18 (girls), Aeroflot C -2007 (men’s section), University games of Turk language countries, silver medal of Asian Nations Cup, bronze medal of Chess Olympiad on 5th board (Norway,2014) and etc.

Which famous player did you look up to when you first started playing chess and why? I don’t remember which book my father used to teach me from, but when I started to realize my left and right I loved to read Nimzowitsch “My system” and Kasparov’s “Two matches”. It was really interesting to read how Nimzowitsch prepared for his future games and tournaments. When I started to read Kasparov the World had changed me. He wrote about definitely new and strange things for me. I realised that his level is very high and it’s a long way to go through what he did. Even now I don’t see anyone who can write like him.

You debut for Kazakhstan in the 37th Olympiad held in Turin, Italy at the age 18. You played Board 3 in that Olympiad, so how did you feel to represent Kazakhstan for the first time in an Olympiad? It was like in a dream come true. I saw so many people who play chess in one place! It was awesome! Even now, I remember Ivanchuk, how he had wore his cap and thought about something while standing in a row for the meal in a restaurant. It was the first time when I play in a team tournament. So, for me, it was fantastic to fight against another team. I played not for result of myself, as I was very worried about results of my teammates. Perhaps that’s why I played excellent and got a WIM norm after the 9th round. But then we decided to visit Genoa when we had a rest day. We travelled by train, saw terrific places, and walked all day long. We were young and we didn’t think about the next day’s round; crazy girls we were. So, the last days awaited us with bad resultsL. That Olympiad was 13 rounds compared to the 11 rounds now and we didn’t have an alternative board. After Genoa and without a reserve player who can replace you, we showed not good results in the end.

The Olympiad’s are always the best event to play in. Apart from this event, what was the most memorable event you played in and why? I think the Asian Indoor Games in Macao in 2007. The city was lovely and every evening we walked on the streets, there were lots of beautiful places, casinos, many people from different countries of the world. The city didn’t sleep and the atmosphere of the place was very warm. Mr. Yevgeniy Vladimirov was our coach for that tournament. He taught me a lot. The main thing that I remember and I think, I’d never forget was the situation when I won against two girls, who got the same points as I got, but I didn’t go to the final. It was shocking! I was so sure that I would go to the final but there were very strange rules/regulations. Even though I won against both of them, they didn’t play each other and my opponent of 2nd round Zhao Xue , who I won too, left the tournament and that’s why the chief arbiter gave me just have of her points from the tiebreak’s. It was horrible and at the same time a funny situation that I even wonder now.

What has been the most interesting country you have played in and why?For me it is Spain! I love Spanish people and their culture. Perhaps it’s because I studied there for a while. My university in Kazakhstan sent me to study a Master’s degree in University of Cadiz. This is a city in the south of Spain. I had been studying for one semester there and when we had Christmas holidays I played in Zaragoza Open. Grandmaster Murtas Kazhgaleyev from Kazakhstan advised me to meet with Artur Kogan (his friend), who lives in Spain and he would help me to play in tournaments in Spain. Of course, I did what he advised me. Artur helped me a lot; he invited me to play in rapid tournament in Albox, then in a classic tournament in Zaragosa. I am very grateful to him and his family. His wife and daughter were very kind and friendly to me. I won the women’s prize in Zaragoza and Mr. Roberto Cifuentes invited me to play for his club. I played twice on weekends in Huesca (its north of Spain). I got 1.5 points against two IM’s and Roberto was surprised. He invited me to stay in Spain for one year to play chess and teach children. I couldn’t because I needed to finish my last year of my Master’s degree in Kazakhstan. Roberto and his wife were very kind to me and many thanks to them. I felt differences between people in the south and north of Spain. People from the south are very talkative and happy compared to people from the north who are calm and friendly. Despite their differences they are all good and hospitable people.

If there was ever one country you could visit and play chess in, which country would that be and why?Spain! I love the people, the culture and the weather there.

You were recently nominated for sportswomen of the year. Apart from feeling excited and happy about this achievement, what other emotions did you feel at the time of receiving the news of your nomination? When does voting close and how can people vote for you? It was awesome news for me! I would like to thank all my friends who gave a vote for me! There were 4 nominees from different sport types: boxing, tennis, wrestling and chess. I got second place after Gennady Golovkin, the boxer. He is very famous in Kazakhstan and abroad. I hope you have heard of him.

What do you think of the current situation of women’s chess and do you see women’s chess improving in the years to come? I see improvement of women’s chess by holding Women Grand Prix tournaments but it’s just a small piece of work. We have very few tournaments for women, I mean only for women. The next problem which needs to be solved is the low prize money for women.

When you are not training for chess, what do you do for relaxation? What are your hobbies? I love to read books, they are very relaxing. Twice a week I go to dancing. I really like it. I have done yoga before, but then I realised that it’s not for me.

Finally, what is one piece of advice you would give to a junior starting out in chess? Love chess, play chess, learn chess! Always remember that chess is not everything. You need to be a person, you need to live, love and enjoy life.

I would like to thank WIM Gulmira Dauletova for the interview and wish her all the best for her endeavours. Below is her game against WGM Natalija Pogonina (Russia) v WIM Gulmira Dauletova (Kazakhstan)

1.e4 c5 2.Nf3 d6 3.d4 cxd4 4.Nxd4 Nf6 5.Nc3 g6 6.Be2 Bg7 7.O-O Nc6 8.Nb3 O-O 9.Re1 Be6 10.Bf1 Rc8 11.Nd5 Ne5 12.Bg5 Nc4 13.Rb1 Re8 14.c3 b5 15.Nxf6+ exf6 16.Bh4 g5 17.Bg3 f5 18.exf5 Bxf5 19.Rxe8+ Qxe8 20.Bd3 Qe6 21.Bxf5 Qxf5 22.Nd4 Bxd4 23.cxd4 Re8 24.b3 Nd2 25.Rc1 Ne4 26.Qf3 Qe6 27.h4 h6 28.hxg5 hxg5 29.Qd3 Qd5 30.Re1 Re6 31.Rc1 Kg7 32.Bh2 b4 33.Qc4 Qf5 34.Qf1 g4 35.d5 Rh6 36.f3 Qh5 0-1fide